Sunday, 10 December 2017

The Metaphorical Boat's Top Songs of 2017 - 40-36

We are up to the songs at numbers 40 to 36 next, featuring two stalwarts of American indie-rock, one stalwart of British indie-rock, now newer Indian indie-rock, and Anteros, who make good music as well - 

40. Anteros - Bonnie

39. Parekh & Singh - Panda

38. Spoon - Hot Thoughts 

37. Cold War Kids - Love Is Mystical

36. British Sea Power - Keep On Trying (Sechs Freunde)

Saturday, 9 December 2017

The Metaphorical Boat's Top Songs of 2017 - 45-41

We follow up the songs that were at #50 to 46, funnily enough, with the songs that at 45-41 on our list of top songs of 2017. In this part of the countdown we have a proper version of "Golden Slumbers" (if your cover version doesn't conclude with "Carry That Weight", then it doesn't count. Sorry Elbow), Paisley based art-rock, and a brace of some of the best local singer-songwriters that Northern Ireland has to offer -

45. Jennifer Hudson - Golden Slumbers / Carry That Weight

44. Darren Doherty - Kites (feat. Lauren Bird)

43. The Vegan Leather - Shake It 

42. Aidan Logan - Turbulence 

 41. Owen Denvir - You Don't Want to Love Me

Friday, 8 December 2017

The Metaphorical Boat's Top Songs of 2017 - 50-46

Time for the annual listageddon here at The Metaphorical Boat. Over the next few days we will be counting down the blog's top 50 songs of 2017. There will be songs that have featured on the blog, songs that didn't feature on the blog, songs that have graced our lovely Spotify playlists over the last 12 months, and songs that really should have featured. But regardless, they are all awesome, and hopefully there will be a few songs here that will float your Metaphorical Boat.

Let us begin, as we normally do, with the songs at numbers 50 through 46 in our favourite songs of 2017. This batch features song local string-swept singer songwriters, a Fatboy Slim cover, some indie-pop, and in what will most likely come as a surprise to many of you, a multi-platinum ginger.

50. Ed Sheeran - Galway Girl

49. Ibibio Sound Machine - Give Me a Reason

48. Girl K - Neighbors 

47. Hannah Grace - Praise You 

46. Malojian - Ambulance Song

Wednesday, 29 November 2017

Silences - L.A

It's been a wee while since we last wrote about Armagh 5-piece Silences, who have been responsible from great songs over the past few years (including one of our top 10 songs of 2015 with "The Sea"), so it's glad to hear the band back on top form with their latest single, "L.A".

The song marks a slight change of tone for the band. It keeps a lot of the atmospherics that the band have become known for over the past few years, but with its distorted bass and heavy sound, it see the band venture into a pronounced alt-rock sound, something in the mold of Broken Bells, or Foals.

In keeping with the darker nature of the song, the band have released a fantastic, disturbing music video for the song, which depicts a news anchor who seems to know more than he lets on about a story he's been reporting on.

"L.A" is out now.

Monday, 13 November 2017

Runabay - Too Soon (Reverie)

Hailing from the Glens of Antrim and Belfast, sextet Runabay have been building up a name for themselves over the past few years with their folk-rock sound, and have developed a reputation as one of the best live bands on the local scene.

We were lucky enough to catch the band live in the Duncairn Arts Centre (one of the finest local venues in North Belfast) for their sold-out performance there, and were mightily impressed by how tight they are live, their great vocal harmonies, and most importantly the strength of the tunes that they have amassed in their set. It was interesting to note that some of their earlier songs, including ones that first brought them to our attention originally, were dropped from the set, and the quality of the songs on offer didn't suffer one bit.

The band have just released their latest single, which marks a further development of the band's sound. "Too Soon (Reverie)" follows on from their recent single "Lotus" in moving away from the more raucous sound of Runabay's earlier sound into a sound that's more holistic and pop-orientated. With its pop chorus and finely tuned harmonies, there are elements of The ShinsFleet Foxes, and even a smidgen of Coldplay in "Too Soon (Reverie)", but more importantly, there is an emerging sound that is very much one that belongs to Runabay alone, which bodes well for the band going forward. With a strong set of tunes, and an enviable live presence, Runaway are making a mighty mark on the local scene.

"Too Soon (Reverie)" is out now. John from Runabay was also a recent guest on our podcast